National Poetry Month 2011: Day 1 (Post #1)

Standard

Let’s start things off with a little something by one of my all-time favorite poets, Ms. Emily Dickinson. This one is called Success is Counted Sweetest.

    UCCESS is counted sweetest
    By those who ne’er succeed.
    To comprehend a nectar
    Requires sorest need.

    Not one of all the purple host
    Who took the flag to-day
    Can tell the definition,
    So clear, of victory,

    As he, defeated, dying,
    On whose forbidden ear
    The distant strains of triumph
    Break, agonized and clear.

One response »

  1. SISTERHOOD

    Different sizes, shapes, and colors
    yet, we have some of the same problems.
    Male problems, children problems,
    mood swings, mental and physical problems,
    you name them, we have them.
    We comfort each other, we get on each other’s nerves.
    Sistahs assisting Sistahs, who are like us?
    You give me your shoulder to cry on,
    I give you my helping hands.
    You give me advice and strength,
    I give you a listening ear.
    I give you my love and support,
    you give me your…
    friendship.

    (c) 2011 Eve Hall

Leave a Reply

